Ms. Heiges Named FCPS Region 1 Outstanding Principal!

Three Other Roadrunner Staff Members Recognized at FCPS Honors

By Department of Human Resources
June 17, 2019

jennifer heigesCongratulations to Principal Jennifer Heiges who was recognized at the annual FCPS Honors event as the 2019 Region 1 Outstanding Principal and one of five finalists for this year's Outstanding Principal Award!

Principal Heiges has been extremely fortunate to have spent 17 years as a member of the Marshall Road Community. Her background as a special educator has driven her to create an inclusive environment where all learners are celebrated. She has brought many encouraging programs to the school such as Responsive Classroom, The Positivity Project and Yoga4Classrooms. She models optimism by developing genuine relationships with all and by consistently having a smile on her face. Principal Heiges is a mentor to students, teachers, and colleagues. She believes that teaching the whole child is the key to success. Marshall Road embraces well-rounded students and very enthusiastic teachers thanks to Principal Heiges' leadership for all these years.

Congratulations also to the other Marshall Road Elementary School staff members recognized at FCPS Honors!

Outstanding Leader School-level Recipient

  • Matthew Chapman, Assistant Principal

Outstanding Elementary Teacher School and Pyramid-level Recipient

  • Sarah Burrowbridge, Sixth Grade Teacher

Outstanding Operational Employee School-level Recipient

  • Jason Duston, Custodian

Thank you to Jennifer Heflin for all of her hard work with the nomination process by serving as this year's awards liaison!